Skip to main content



Bridging Communities

Established in 1992 as the Asian Pacific Democratic Club, we proudly hold the title of the longest-serving Asian-Pacific Islander (API) democratic club west of the Mississippi. In 2018, we renamed ourselves the Edwin M. Lee Asian Pacific Democratic Club to honor the enduring legacy of San Francisco Mayor Edwin M. Lee.

Mayor Ed Lee, who unexpectedly passed away at the age of 65, dedicated his life to public service, starting as a tenants’ rights lawyer and later serving as the 43rd mayor of San Francisco. To address housing affordability, jobs and the economy, he was known for his civility and unique ability to bring people to the table to implement policies.

As a club officially chartered by the San Francisco Democratic Party, we represent the vibrant diversity of the city’s local Democratic party. Our mission is to engage Asian and Pacific Islander (API) Americans, encourage their active participation in the Democratic Party, and support strong API leaders, echoing Mayor Lee’s commitment to community and service.

Known as Ed Lee Dems, our activities include voter registration, issue advocacy, hosting candidate forums, social events, and endorsing candidates and ballot measures. We are proud to carry forward Mayor Lee’s spirit of compassion, decency, and kindness.

Join us in shaping a more inclusive and empowered political landscape, embodying the values that defined Mayor Ed Lee’s impactful work and commitment to the people of San Francisco.

This is Why We Organize

Fight for Change that Matters

  • Equal Rights: Civil Rights, Women’s Rights, LGBT Rights
  • Asian and Pacific Islander (API) Representation
  • Local Public Schools, Transportation, and Parks
  • Safe Neighborhoods
  • More Affordable Housing
  • Access to Quality, Affordable Health Care
  • Expanding Economic Opportunities

What We Do

SF Women's March


Voter Registration

Through our volunteer voter registration drives, we give people an opportunity to register to vote and begin a conversation on issues that matter.

Scoop the Vote


Young Leaders

We are a grassroots-driven organization dedicated to preparing the next generation of Asian Pacific Islander (API) leaders and young activists. We train responsible caring leaders and volunteers to give back to the community through public service and elected office.


All Voters

We host events to educate and engage voters about local issues and candidates to help unlock people’s ability to make change. From the San Francisco School Board to the Board of Supervisors, it is important to mobilize voters in every election.

Team in Action

Connect on Instagram