Skip to main content

San Francisco Elections in 2022

Updated Aug 30, 2022:

The Edwin M. Lee Asian Pacific Democratic Club (ELDC) PAC and Board meets to recommend endorsements for our membership. The final endorsement decision is voted on by our membership. Below are our official endorsements for the upcoming San Francisco elections in 2022.

Official Endorsement for November 8, 2022
General Election

Federal & CA State Offices

  • US Senate: Alex Padilla
  • US Representative, Dist. 11: Nancy Pelosi
  • Governor: Gavin Newsom
  • Lieutenant Governor: Eleni Koulanakis
  • Secretary of State: Shirley Weber
  • Attorney General: Rob Bonta
  • Treasurer: Fiona Ma
  • Controller: Malia Cohen
  • Superintendent of Public Instruction: Tony Thurmond
  • Insurance Commissioner: Ricardo Lara
  • State Assembly, Dist. 17: Matt Haney
  • State Assembly, Dist. 19: Phil Ting
  • Board of Equalization, Dist. 2: Sally Lieber

CA State Measures

  • Yes on Prop 1: Protects Abortion 
  • No Position on Prop 26: Tribal Gambling
  • No Position on Prop 27: Online Sports Betting 
  • Yes on Prop 28: K-12 Arts Set-Aside
  • No on Prop 29: Dialysis Staffing (3rd Time) 
  • No on Prop 30: >$2 Million Income Tax for electric vehicles
  • Yes on Prop 31: Referendum on Some Flavored Tobacco Sales 

SF Local Offices

  • Supervisor, Dist. 2: Catherine Stefani
  • Supervisor, Dist. 4: Joel Engardio
  • Supervisor, Dist. 6: Matt Dorsey
  • Supervisor, Dist. 8: Rafael Mandelman
  • Supervisor, Dist. 10: No Endorsement
  • Board of Education: Ann Hsu*, Lainie Motamedi, & Lisa Weissman-Ward
  • Community College Board: Murrell Green & Jill Yee
  • Assessor-Recorder: Joaquin Torres
  • District Attorney: Brooke Jenkins
  • Public Defender: Mano Raju
  • BART Director, Dist. 8:  No Endorsement

SF Local Measures

  • Yes on Prop A: Retiree Pension Adjustment
  • Yes on Prop B: Street Cleaning
  • No on Prop C: Homelessness Commission
  • Yes on Prop D: Streamline Affordable Housing
  • No on Prop E: Block Affordable Housing
  • Yes on Prop F: Library Preservation
  • Yes on Prop G: Student Success Fund
  • No Endorsement on Prop H: Consolidate Elections
  • No Position on Prop I: JFK & Great Highway for cars
  • No Position on Prop J: Keep JFK car free
  • No on Prop K: Small Business Tax
  • Yes on Prop L: Transportation Tax
  • No on Prop M: Vacancy Tax
  • Yes on Prop N: Concourse Parking
  • No on Prop O: City College Parcel Tax

Ann Hsu* The ELDC Board acknowledges SFUSD Commissioner Ann Hsu’s statements on the SF Parents Coalition questionnaire was hurtful to Black and Brown communities. Since the statement, we appreciate Commissioner Hsu’s apology and commitment to learning and growing in the process, the ELDC board will continue to hold all our elected officials accountable for their statements and actions. With over 33% of the students identified as Asian Americans, we believe her background as first generation immigrant and a parent can provide an unique perspective in connecting with these families. We are endorsing Commissioner Hsu with the understanding that she will work to build bridges with all communities and represents the interests of all SFUSD students.

Elections and Voter Information


Vote February 15, 2022 or by-mail

SF Consolidated Special Municipal Election


Recall These SF School Board Members

  • Yes on Prop A: Recall Alison Collins
  • Yes on Prop B: Recall Gabriela Lopez
  • Yes on Prop C: Recall Faauuga Moliga

The Edwin M. Lee Asian Pacific Democratic Club membership has voted to endorse Yes on the Recall of Board of Education Commissioners Allison Collins, Gabriela Lopez, and Faauuga Moliga. The San Francisco School Board failed our children by playing politics while students and families have suffered during COVID. San Francisco public schools were among the last to open for in-person learning even as the City was a leader in driving down COVID case counts. The School Board wasted their time on renaming schools, changed the Lowell High School admissions process without proper notice, and neglected their duties to bring a quality education to students. Students fell behind because of extended distance learning and the negligence of our School Board. As a result of their failed governance, SFUSD is now facing a historic fiscal crisis and is at risk of a state takeover.

As an Asian Pacific Democratic Club, we condemn Allison Collins for her anti-Asian tweetsher failure to acknowledge the harms she inflicted on our community, and her failure to make amends. 

As Mayor London Breed said in her endorsement of the school board recall, “Our kids must come first.” We are proud to stand with Mayor Breed, State Senator Scott Wiener, former Mayor Art Agnos, CA Democratic Party Chair John Burton, and thousands of public school parents in support of recalling these three school board members.

Vote April 19, 2022 – Assembly District 17 Special Election 

In the April 19, 2022 election, only voters residing in Assembly District 17 will participate. To check your voting districts, use the Voter Portal, call (415) 554-4375 or email

Vote June 7, 2022 – Statewide Direct Primary Election


San Francisco will begin using the new State Assembly and U.S. Congressional District maps beginning with the June 7, 2022 Election and will begin using the new Supervisorial District maps beginning with the November 8, 2022 Election. You may look up your current voting districts at

Local Propositions

  • Yes on Prop A, MUNI Reliability and Street Safety $400,000,000 
  • Yes on Prop B, Building Inspection Commission 
  • No on Prop C, Recall Timelines and Vacancy Process
  • Yes on Prop D, Victims and Witness Rights
  • No on Prop E, Behested Payments
  • Yes on Prop F, Refuse Collection and Disposal
  • Yes on Prop G, Public Health Emergency Leave
  • Yes on Prop H, District Attorney Recall

Local, State, and Federal Offices

  • Governor: Gavin Newsom
  • Lieutenant Governor: Eleni Koulanakis
  • Secretary of State: Shirley Weber
  • Controller: Malia Cohen
  • Treasurer: Fiona Ma
  • Attorney General: Rob Bonta
  • Board of Equalization, District 2: Michela Alioto-Pier
  • US Senate: Alex Padilla
  • US Representative, District 11: Nancy Pelosi
  • State Assembly Member, District 17: Matt Haney
  • State Assembly Member, District 19: Phil Ting
  • Superintendent of Public Instruction: Tony Thurmond
  • City Attorney: David Chiu